Harry & Ginny

To read the stories, please make sure you log in first.

If you would like to read the more mature stories on the site, please email admin AT harryandginny.co.uk with your board user name. You must be over 18.

Now Reading...
Featured Fanart
The Wedding

© Leela Starsky

For More Fanart, visit the Gallery
Reviewer: imahogg Signed
Date: 29 June 2006 - 11:25PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Very interesting story.  I loved seeing the Potters from a completely fresh perspective.  I do find it odd that Matthew hadn't heard more of her story after three days.  I would think that Harry's daughter getting sorted into Slytherin would make people talk alot.

Reviewer: smile Signed
Date: 23 June 2006 - 07:08AM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

I dont get it.....is Hope Harrys kid? And why on earth is she in Slytherin? Is it in the future? because snape still their..explain it better

Reviewer: Leela Patil Signed
Date: 09 May 2006 - 08:38AM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Hi, I'm new to this site (though not new to the Carpe Diem universe - I've been reading and re-reading it for the past 4 years)...and this just happens to be my first review because I have no words as yet for Imogen's work (it took me a full week to come up with words alone for yours'!) 

Gosh, I really loved this...ever since his first appearance in Nil Desperandum I'd been wondering about his first impressions of Hope when he came in. The fact that he was Muggleborn and had no idea what Hope represented to the Wizarding World makes his fascination for her even more endearing (slight jealousy over everyone paying attention to her at Sorting...<melts>). I wondered how the whole "love at first sight issue" (he near as says that in Chapter 10 of A Pensieve Affair) would be tackled...what would strike Matt about her at first glance, beyond the vibrant red hair? Including this, you have also come up with the idea of letting Matt see "life" in her - a contrast IMO to how his "life" so far had been. Hope and Hogwarts (I think) represent the same concept to him, of novelty, of a better life of hope.

I loved the fact that you included Della here and sowed the seeds of what would happened between them in a way that could be believed. The Sorting Hat's a treasure - kudos to him (it?) for soothing Matt's worries and guilt on that score. Matt's quite the Slytherin - his persistance doesn't wane even after he has acheived his percived goal (thinking of A Pensieve Affair here...)

Wonderful work! I really love this ficlet!

Reviewer: alejandra s Signed
Date: 06 May 2006 - 09:27PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

ohhh how sweet!!!! really good job!!!

Reviewer: Robert Signed
Date: 03 May 2006 - 09:45PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

I most definately enjoyed this look at Matt.  I had wondered just how he'd ended up in Slytherin given his personality.  Makes some of the character assumptions i worked in in REFLECTIONS, the 4 part post-PA story I've just finished really come together.


 I should add that Imogen's threat to withhold my X-mas pressie had absolutely nothing to do with this review



Reviewer: TGMarita Signed
Date: 03 May 2006 - 09:05AM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Oh wow, you've captured Mathew perfectly.  He tries both bribery and appealing to the hat's pride, very Slytherin,  but he is so sweet that it seems like a character atribute instead of a character flaw.  And he keeps his word to the hat, which really seemed to enjoy that brushing.

Reviewer: Aendre Signed
Date: 03 May 2006 - 09:02AM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

     Really really great outtake, It shows what Matthew loved about Hope even without knwing her. He doesn't know that he actually put himself in quite difficulte position being a muggleborn in Slytherin but we all know it will turn out not so bad in the end :). I enjoyed it enormaly. The shorting hat scene was funny. I wouldn't imagine it eating candy. Poor studen hair...lol.

Matt was truly convincing and really look like the same that Imogen made. You really got is caracter and everything. Wonder if he will ever tell Hope or someone near him...But i guess Imogen has already her idea on that. :P

        Really good writing, love to see some more... :)

Reviewer: allie kiwi Signed
Date: 03 May 2006 - 05:01AM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

I absolutely love this story.  Your characterisation of Matthew is so in keeping with Imogen's.  His Slytherin chracteristics certainly came to the fore when bribing the Hat, yet he has the bravery to find a way to try and change the Hat's 'mind'... he certainly has a mix of House characteristics.  I wonder if this will perhaps make him more (or less?) appealing to Harry as a boyfriend for Hope, since he was also a mix of Houses?

 *going off to ponder that*


Reviewer: mary-v Signed
Date: 03 May 2006 - 02:56AM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

XD XD Brilliant!!!:D:D:D:D I really enjoyed reading this a LOT. :D Great missing moment!!:D

Reviewer: bart Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 09:30PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For


Love the fact that he bribed the Sorting Hat, and then stroked it's ego to get what he wanted.

And having him fulfil his promise to clean it (what ever his motives LOL) was a great way of showing the traits that make him who he is in later years.

Reviewer: Alphie Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 08:43PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

It's so sweet!  One look and BAM!  The boy was smitten from the get go!  Well done.

Reviewer: hgrotewold Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 08:16PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Oops...I almost forgot, but of course the plot bunny that just sunk its teeth into my leg reminded me.  Is Matt ever going to tell Hope about this?  It would be something cute to share between say a father and his son or perhaps even between Hope and Matthew.

Reviewer: hgrotewold Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 08:13PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

(*grins*) That was sweet!  Brilliant, too, by the way.  I love how Matt managed to wangle his way back to the Sorting Hat to keep his promise and the conversation between the two of them was too funny!  I also enjoyed how Matthew actually did manage to get sorted into the right house, even though it took both times before the hat actually managed to realise it!  Brilliant!

Reviewer: EdinaBrya Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 07:55PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Wonderful story, I look forward to more!


Reviewer: JHoll Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 06:46PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Oh, how sweet!!! What a great take on the Sorting and I love that Matthew bribed the Sorting Hat! lol lol. And trying to make Hope happy even then? He's such a good guy.

Your addition to his personality really help to explain a lot of Matthew's lingering fears in A Pensieve Affair. He's wanted Hope for so long, he's bound to doubt happiness when he gets it. Big hugs for Matthew, poor baby.

Really great job!! Will will be reading anything else from you soon?  


Reviewer: Imogen Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 06:37PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Well, you know how much I liked this. The Sorting Hat and its conversations with Matthew are just fabulous. I especially like him getting the idea of it winking at him as well. Nicely done!

I also loved seeing JUST how smitten Matthew is with Hope literally as soon as he sees her. Who'd have ever thought what would have been happening 11 years later... *grins*

Reviewer: Drie Signed
Date: 02 May 2006 - 06:19PM Title: Be Careful What You Wish For

Okay, that is just the sweetest story from Matthew's POV.  What a clever way to sort him, and I like the conversation between Matthew and the Sorting Hat.  Wonderful!

RSS Feed